top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeatrice

Some Not-So-Sick Life Advice


On my (probably futile, but nevertheless entertaining) quest to figure out what I want to do with my future, I sat down and had a discussion with Dr. Julie a few weeks ago. I wanted to know how she, who was fully qualified to become a cancer research biologist, ended up as a high school teacher.


The answer was pretty simple: she’d missed kids. Dr. Julie had a teaching job at a middle school before attending grad school, and once she had received her pHD, she realized that she wished to go back to it. That original teaching job at a middle school was supposed to just be a holdover while she figured out what she wanted to do with her life; it turns out that it was the answer to her question!



Above: A meme I made out of a diagram from Immunology (which I'm taking with Dr Julie).


Everyone was shocked when Dr. Julie, who could’ve gone on to have a successful career in cancer research, left for teaching. But teaching is what makes her happiest, and I don’t think she regrets the decision to leave academia.


When it comes to my life, other people’s opinions about what I should and shouldn’t do don’t matter; all that matters is that I pursue what makes me happy. Right now, studying the classics is what makes me happiest, so I will continue to work on that. But if that changes in the future, I need to be flexible. I will end up where I am supposed to end up, even if it is a random high school in upstate New York. You never know. :)


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Farewell!

Hi everyone! This will probably be my last blog post. The school year is drawing to an end and my Signature Project is wrapping up; we have our Signature and Emma Artist day this Friday, May 27th. It'

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page